Gottfried Keller, Winter Night

Keller Stauffer-Bern_GottfriedKeller

Gottfried Keller

(1819-1890; Swiss; son of a wood-turner, self-taught; novelist; popular expression; have again tried for some rhyme and meter in the translation)

Winter Night

Not a wing-beat moved through the world,
Still and dazzling lay the white snow.
Not a cloud hung from the tent of stars, no
Wave beat in the rigid lake.

From the deep arose the lake tree’s height
Till its crown froze fast in the ice;
Up its branches climbed a water sprite,
Peered up through that green ice.

I stood there on glass so thin
That lay between the deep and me;
Close by my feet I did see
Her white beauty, limb for limb.

With stifled groan she groped apace
Back and forth at that hard ceiling;
Never shall I forget that dark face,
Ever, ever does it haunt my feeling.

This entry was posted in German poetry in translation, German poetry translations, Poems, Poetry, translations from German, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment